The Masorti Foundation for Conservative Judaism in Israel

The Abayudaya Jews of Uganda seek equality and inclusion in Israel, in the global Jewish community and, in the Zionist  community. In Israel they face ongoing discrimination and legal challenges in their quest for full recognition by the State.

As we begin to prepare for Pesach, a holiday of questions, we bring together distinguished  Masorti rabbis across countries and time zones to explore some answers (and maybe more questions…these are rabbis!) in a Zoom webinar.

Special Guest Speaker:
Meet Rabbi Gershom Sizomu

Rabbi Gershom Sizomu is the first native-born, ordained, Black rabbi in Sub-Saharan Africa. He is also the first chief rabbi of the Abayudaya in Uganda, a member of the Ugandan Parliament and a Grammy award nominee.

Pesach is uniquely meaningful to Rabbi Sizomu.  It was on Pesach that Idi Amin, who persecuted Jews in Uganda, was deposed. An answered prayer. “My father and grandfather were talking about the miracle of Pesach…and I could see and experience it. That we are talking about Pharaoh and freedom from Egypt…and it is happening right here before my eyes…it says that every Jew must see themselves as if they personally were slaves in Egypt and delivered. I saw that.”

Rabbi Sizomu studied at the Ziegler School of Rabbinic Studies at American Jewish University in LA where he was ordained in 2008.  His father and grandfather were rabbis and he chose to become a rabbi at his Bar Mitzvah.

Learn more about Rabbi Sizomu, hear him speak at the webinar about  the community of Abayudaya Jews, their history, and their struggle for acceptance by the State of Israel. Listen as Masorti Rabbis Elliot Dorff, Andy Sacks, and Gordon Tucker reflect on, and discuss, these important challenges facing Israel.

 

Sunday, March 7th

9:00 AM PT

12:00 Noon, ET

7:00 PM, Israel

8:00 PM, Uganda